Skip Navigation: Avoid going through Home page links and jump straight to content

Ray Images of Comet Hale-Bopp

clrbar.gif

ray14_s.jpg72K ray15_s.jpg79K
Observer: Glenn Ray
Location: Sealy, Texas
Date: April 30, 1997 02:07-03:01 UT

First Image  
Camera:    Pentax ME Super (35mm) 50mm f/2 
Film:      Fuji SG 800 (hypersensitized) 
Exposure:  30 seconds @f/2.8 and 60 seconds @f/4 
Time:      02:21:30 and 02:25 UT (21:21 and 21:25 CDT) 
Notes:     Prints scanned and "added" together in Adobe Photoshop 4.0. 
           Note Pleiades near horizon.  Double horizon shows relative sky      
           movement between exposures. 

Second Image  
Camera:    Pentax ME Super (35mm) 150mm f/4 
Film:      Fuji SG 800 (hypersensitized) 
Exposure:  2 minutes 
Time:      02:41 UT (21:41 CDT) 
Notes:     North is right.  Detail of original print; about 1/4 size. 

Photos taken from a site approx. 7.5 miles west of Sealy, TX (55 miles W of Houston). "One-hour" machine prints scanned and loaded into Adobe Photoshop 4.0. Levels adjusted and sharpening applied (using unsharp mask). Visually, dust tail length about 10 degrees. Compare to last photo submitted on April 14 (ray13.html). Estimated magnitude 0.4 (between Capella and Betelguese).

Glenn Ray
glenn.ray@aspentech.com


comethome.gif Comet Hale-Bopp Home Page

clrbar.gif