Skip Navigation: Avoid going through Home page links and jump straight to content

Ray Images of Comet Hale-Bopp

clrbar.gif

ray16_s.jpg82K ray17_s.jpg54K
Observer: Glenn Ray
Location: Sealy, Texas
Date: May 4, 1997 02:08, 02:37 UT

First Image  
Camera:    Pentax 645 (6x4.5) 75mm f/2.8 @ f/4 
Film:      Kodak Pro 1000 (PMZ)
Exposure:  30 seconds, unguided
Time:      02:08 UT (21:08 CDT) 
Notes:     Note Aldebaran/Hayades near horizon. This was about an hour
           after sunset.
 
Second Image  
Camera:    Pentax 645 (6x4.5) 200mm f/4 
Film:      Kodak Pro 400 (PPF), hypersensitized 
Exposure:  4 minutes 
Time:      02:37 UT (21:37 CDT) 
Notes:     North is right.  Guided on comet nucleus.

Photos taken from a site approx. 7.5 miles west of Sealy, TX (55 miles W of Houston). Negatives scanned and loaded into Adobe Photoshop 4.0. Levels adjusted and sharpening applied (using unsharp mask).

These past few months have been among the most memorable in my life. I want to thank my family and friends (especially my wife!) for putting up with my obsessive behavior related to chasing Comet Hale-Bopp. I also want to thank the numerous fellow astronomers who've taken time to answer technical questions about astrophotography, in addition to sharing their stories with me! Lastly, I'd like to publicly thank Ron Baalke for providing this forum that has united us all.

Glenn Ray
glenn.ray@aspentech.com


comethome.gif Comet Hale-Bopp Home Page

clrbar.gif