Skip Navigation: Avoid going through Home page links and jump straight to content

Ray Images of Comet Hale-Bopp

clrbar.gif

ray18_s.jpg55K ray19_s.jpg81K
Observer: Glenn Ray
Location: Bernardo, Texas
Date: May 7, 1997 02:19-02:21 UT

First Image  
Camera:    Pentax 645 (6x4.5) 75mm f/2.8 
Film:      Kodak Pro 1000 (PMZ)
Exposure:  45 seconds, unguided
Time:      02:19 UT (21:19 CDT) 
Notes:     This was a little over an hour after sunset.
 
Second Image  
Camera:    Pentax 645 (6x4.5) 75mm f/2.8 @ f/4
Film:      Kodak Pro 1000 (PMZ) 
Exposure:  60 seconds, unguided 
Time:      02:21 UT (21:21 CDT) 
Notes:     A truck drove towards me during the exposure,
           lighting up the telephone pole and my car.

Photos taken from a site approx. 61 miles west of Houston. Negatives scanned and loaded into Adobe Photoshop 4.0. Levels adjusted and sharpening applied (using unsharp mask).

Glenn Ray
glenn.ray@aspentech.com


comethome.gif Comet Hale-Bopp Home Page

clrbar.gif