Skip Navigation: Avoid going through Home page links and jump straight to content

NWA 1950

gbar.gif

Northwest Africa 1950 (NWA 1950)

nwa1950a_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950b_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950c_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950d_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950e_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950f_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950g_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950h_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut

nwa1950i_s.jpg
Photo © Bruno Fectay & Carine Bidaut




                    THE METEORITICAL BULLETIN
              E-mail Announcement 88-2, October 23, 2003
              
            Sara Russell, Editor (sara.russell@nhm.ac.uk)
            Jutta Zipfel, Assoc. Ed. for Northwest Africa 
                     (zipfel@mpch-mainz.mpg.de)
          Luigi Folco, Assoc. Ed. for Africa (folco@unisi.it)
         Monica Grady, Assoc. Ed. for Oman (M.Grady@nhm.ac.uk)
       Rhian Jones, Assoc. Ed. for the Americas (rjones@unm.edu)
      Tim McCoy, Assoc. Ed. for Antarctica (mccoy.tim@nmnh.si.edu)
      Jeffrey N. Grossman, Assoc. Ed. for Web (jgrossman@usgs.gov)

Northwest Africa 1950
  Morocco
  Found 2001 January and March
  Martian meteorite (lherzolitic shergottite) 

Two stones (414 and 383 g) were found in the Atlas mountains 
(Morocco) in 2001 January and March. The exact location of find is 
unknown. The meteorite is a cumulate peridotitic rock consisting of 
olivine (~ 55 vol%), low and high-Ca pyroxenes (~ 35 vol%) and 
plagioclase glass (~ 8 vol%). Accessory minerals include phosphates 
(merrillite), chromite and spinels (inclusions in olivines and 
pyroxenes), sulfides (pyrrhotite), and a glass rich in potassium.The 
igneous texture is very similar to that of the ALHA77005. 
Classification and mineralogy (Ph. Gillet, ENSL,  J.A. Barrat, UAng, 
M. Bohn, Ifremer): pyroxenes are pigeonite, En78Fs19Wo2-En60Fs26Wo14, 
and augite, En53Fs16Wo31-En45Fs14Wo41; maskelynite ranges from 
An57Ab41Or1 to An40Ab57Or3. The key element weight-ratios FeO*/MnO is 
close to 30 for pigeonite and close to 50 for olivines. Geochemistry: 
REE pattern similar to that of ALHA77005 but with higher values. 
Specimens: type specimen, 20 g, ENSL; main mass, Fectay.



Return to the Mars Meteorite Home Page

Please direct questions and comments about this home page to
Ron Baalke
Jet Propulsion Lab

ron@jpl.nasa.gov

gbar.gif

jplred.gif