Skip Navigation: Avoid going through Home page links and jump straight to content

Sayh al Uhaymir 150

gbar.gif




                    THE METEORITICAL BULLETIN
              E-mail Announcement 87-4, May 6, 2003
              
            Sara Russell, Editor (sara.russell@nhm.ac.uk)
            Jutta Zipfel, Assoc. Ed. for Northwest Africa 
                     (zipfel@mpch-mainz.mpg.de)
          Luigi Folco, Assoc. Ed. for Africa (folco@unisi.it)
         Monica Grady, Assoc. Ed. for Oman (M.Grady@nhm.ac.uk)
       Rhian Jones, Assoc. Ed. for the Americas (rjones@unm.edu)
      Tim McCoy, Assoc. Ed. for Antarctica (mccoy.tim@nmnh.si.edu)
      Jeffrey N. Grossman, Assoc. Ed. for Web (jgrossman@usgs.gov)

This is the fourth electronic announcement of new meteorites to be 
published in Meteoritical Bulletin, No. 87, 2003 July.  


Sayh al Uhaymir 150	2059'31.3" N, 5719'11,7" E
  Al Ghaba, Oman
  Found 2002 October 8
  Martian meteorite (basaltic shergottite)
A 107.7 g olive-brown coloured stone of relatively angular shape with 
one small area of thin black-brown fusion crust was recovered on a 
Miocene fresh-water limestone gravel plateau about 43 km south of Al 
Ghaba by Rainer and Sven Bartoschewitz. Mineralogy and classification 
(R. Bartoschewitz, Bart): porphyritic texture with olivine 
phenocrysts up to 2 mm (Fo67-64) set in a matrix consisting of 
feldspathic glass (An53-66Or0.3-0.8) and pigeonite (En62-69Wo7-11) 
with minor Ca-poor pyroxene (En65-66Fs34-35). Shock melt veins and 
pockets are partly recrystallized. Shock stage S5. Oxygen isotopic 
composition (R.N. Clayton, UChi): d17O = +2.78 permil, d18O = +4.74 
permil, they fall in the SNC field. Analysed by P. Appel and B. Mader 
(Kiel). SaU 005, 008, 051, 060 and 094 were found in the same area 
and may be paired. Specimens: 17.7 g Muzeum Ziemi PAN, al. Na Skarpie 
27, PL- Warszawa, 2.7 g Kiel, main mass Bart.


Return to the Mars Meteorite Home Page

gbar.gif