Skip Navigation: Avoid going through Home page links and jump straight to content

Ray Images of Comet Hale-Bopp

clrbar.gif

ray7_s.jpg42K ray8_s.jpg44K ray9_s.jpg59K ray10_s.jpg43K
Observers: Glenn Ray, Dana Christensen Ray
Location: Cleveland, Texas
Date: April 6, 1997 01:58-02:45 UT

First Image
Camera:     Pentax Super ME (35mm), 50mm f/2.8
Film:       Fujichrome 1600D (Provia), pushed 2 stops
Exposure:   20 seconds
Time:       02:07 UT (20:07 CST)
Notes:      Unguided; level with horizon.  Low clouds visible near
            bottom of frame

Second Image
Camera:     Pentax Super ME (35mm), 50mm f/2.8
Film:       Fujichrome 1600D (Provia), pushed 2 stops
Exposure:   60 seconds
Time:       02:45 UT (20:45 CST)
Notes:      Unguided.

Third Image
Camera:     Pentax 645 (4x5), 75mm f/2.8
Film:       Kodak Pro 1000
Exposure:   2 minutes
Time:       01:58 UT (19:58 CST)
Notes:      North is right.  Note clouds in lower left also appear
            in first photo; dark patch in lower left is top of a tree.

Fourth Image
Camera:     Pentax 645 (4x5), 200mm f/4
Film:       Kodak Pro 1000
Exposure:   about 3 minutes
Time:       Started @ 02:39 UT (20:39 CST)
Notes:      Obvious plane trail on bottom of image.  M34 is visible
            just above comet's head.

Photos taken from a site approx. 11 miles east of Cleveland, TX (55 miles NNE of Houston). Negatives scanned and loaded into Adobe Photoshop 4.0. Levels adjusted and sharpening applied using unsharp mask.

Visually, dust tail length approximately 11 degrees; ivory in color. Estimated magnitude -0.4 (between Capella and Mars).

Dana and I want to thank Jimmie and Dollie Wood for the gracious use of their land and their wonderful hospitality.

glenn.ray@aspentech.com


comethome.gif Comet Hale-Bopp Home Page

clrbar.gif