Skip Navigation: Avoid going through Home page links and jump straight to content

Ray Images of Comet Hale-Bopp

clrbar.gif

ray11_s.jpg78K ray12_s.jpg37K
Observers: Glenn Ray, Dana Christensen Ray
Location: Fulshear, Texas
Date: April 7, 1997 02:07-03:01 UT

First Image 
Camera:    Pentax 645 (4x5), 200mm f/4
Film:      Kodak Pro 1000
Exposure:  3 minutes each
Time:      02:07 and 02:11 UT (21:07 and 21:11 CDT)
Notes:     North is right.  Two negatives scanned and "added" together
           in Adobe Photoshop 4.0 (Thanks to Jerry Lodriguss for the 
           Photoshop tips!)

Second Image 
Camera:    Celestron 8" with f/5.6 corrector/reducer
           (1120mm effective focal length)
Film:      Fujichrome 1600D (Provia), pushed 2 stops
Exposure:  2 minutes each
Time:      02:59:00 and 03:01:30 UT (21:59 and 22:01:30 CDT)
Notes:     Composite of two photos, showing position of pseudonucleus
           relative to M34.  North is right.

Photos taken from a site approx. 5 miles northwest of Fulshear, TX (25 miles W of Houston). Negatives scanned and loaded into Adobe Photoshop 4.0. Levels adjusted and sharpening applied (using unsharp mask). Visually, dust tail length approximately 10 degrees; ivory in color. Estimated magnitude -0.4 (between Capella and Mars). This site has moderate light pollution, being only 25 miles from downtown Houston.

glenn.ray@aspentech.com


comethome.gif Comet Hale-Bopp Home Page

clrbar.gif